Now I know why it calls for WHITE wine…. (ugh, sigh) Brownish purple Risotto

Yep! There’s a reason why all the Risotto recipes out there call for white wine, red makes it look gross.
I’d say 90% come out pretty decent when I decide to create a recipe but when I am not using my brain this is what happens……
 Oh it tasted great but U-G-L-Y !
I just figured I didn’t have white wine but I have red, “What could be so different?” uh, the color!
So I’m going to give you my recipe but be sure and use the white or none at all…
It’s suppose to be Asparagus Risotto
What you need:
6 cups broth (I used veg you can use chicken too)
1 1/2 C Arborio Rice
1/2 WHITE WINE (optional)
2 shallots diced
1 garlic clove minced
3 Tbls Olive Oil
2 Tbls Butter
1 lb asparagus (cut into 1 inch pieces)
1/2 C Parm cheese grated
1/2 lemon zest & juice
1/4 c chopped oven dried tomatoes or sun dried tomatoes
What you do:
In a large saute pan, saute shallots and garlic in 1 tbl butter and 2 tbls olive oil until translucent on med heat
Add rice and continue to saute until rice turns pale and golden.
Add the wine and let absorb completely
Once the wine absorbs add the stock about a 1/4 to 1/2 cup at a time letting it absorb totally before adding the next.
This takes approx 20 min and you need to stir often so don’t go throw a load of laundry in.
Once all the broth is absorbed turn to low heat
In another saute pan saute the asparagus in the remaining butter & oil for about 2 mins just to heat through(this can be done ahead too)
add to the risotto, remove from heat add  a squeeze of lemon, the lemon zest, tomatoes & parm cheese and mix.
serve with a little sprinkle of parsley & a few shaves of the parm

"OOPS"

Enjoy -T

Leave a Reply

