Triple Threat Vinaigrette

With these three LOOK OUT salads & side dishes!

I LOVE salad dressing, The worse thing that ever happened to me was when I put “low Cal” dressing on a salad.
I remember it like it was yesterday, looking down disgusted as if someone switched my bowl of salad with a bowl of dirt…..
Well those days are gone and now that I know how easy it is to make my own forget the store bought stuff!
Here are three of my fave’s that can go on salads, veggies and anything else you want to gussy up. I do a good size batch so I have it on hand in the fridge and put them in jars with lids to keep fresh.
With all of these whisk all the ingredients together while drizzling the olive oil in slowly so it thickens nicely or “emulsifies”
First is the
Stone Ground Mustard Vinaigrette:
This is great with bitter greens like arugula, endive and watercress. I put it on my avocado & tomato salad and it was delish
1 Tbls Stone Ground Mustard (you want this one because the mustard seeds look really nice as well as flavorful)
1/4 C white wine vinegar
1 C olive oil
3 Tbls Maple Syrup
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper


Balsamic Vinaigrette:
This stands up to anything you throw it on from salads to roasted vegetables. I marinated a portobello mushroom with it & it was the best one I’ve ever had. I find my self looking for things to dunk in this one.
1/4 C Balsamic vinegar
1 C olive oil
1 Tbls maple syrup or sugar (the syrup adds more depth)
1 Tbls Dijon Mustard
pinch of red pepper flakes (or my new favorite Aleppo Pepper)
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper

Lemon Scallion Vinaigrette:
This one has a bright citrus flavor and you can substitute chives for the scallions and it will taste the same. This is much lighter then the other two and would be really great on a salad with fennel or again bitter greens. I like it on grilled romaine with a little cheese. This has no pepper, it is meant to be a little tart and less sweet then Balsamic even though it has sweetness added.
4 Scallions (green onions) finely chopped
1C olive oil
juice from 1 lemon (about 3 Tbls)
zest from that same lemon
3 Tbls Rice Wine Vinegar
1/2 tsp sugar
1 tsp honey
 Enjoy -T

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Grilled Peaches and Figs with Balsamic and Blue Part 2 « Foodashion's Blog

Leave a Reply

