Easy Bruschetta & I’m Finally Feeling Betta

Sick for a solid week with Bronchitis in bed and on the couch I’m starving and so is my husband. In the 10 years we have been together he has cooked twice, both times a stir fry so you can imagine what I eat as a sick person……not much.
But I am on my way to better & I’m so hungry for something tasty!
WHAT YOU NEED:
6 small tomatoes chopped (I got the Compari, bigger then cherry, about 1 1/2 inches)
Cibatta bread
1 scallion/green onion chopped
1 Lg garlic clove minced
Fresh Mozzarella (3 slices for each piece)
1/4 Cup fresh or frozen basil (frozen from my garden)
10 to 12 Kalamata olives chopped/pitted
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper
splash balsamic vinegar
olive oil for drizzling

WHAT YOU DO:
This is an easy one with BIG flavor!!
heat oven to 425
Cut the Ciabatta bread into 1/2 inch pieces (I like it on the bias so it looks pretty & fits a little more)
Toast in oven about 1/2 way to brown
In a bowl add the chopped tomatoes, garlic, scallion, basil, olives, salt, red pepper, and the balsamic.
Stir it up and let it sit for a little so the flavors combine, maybe 20 min.
Top the partially toasted bread with the mixture and then add 3 slices of fresh mozzarella to each and toast again for 5 to 7 minutes, until the cheese starts to melt and then take them out garnish with fresh basil or parsley and eat them. you could broil them too and get the cheese bubbly & browned but I’m too hungry for that.
Enjoy -T

 

Leave a Reply

