Perfect Portobello Mushroom Sandwich

yes it is also Portabella! I realized as I was going to write this I did not know what was correct spelling so I looked it up and it is both, one is the “Brand” name so either one is the right one. Go figure…
Also as far as “perfect” goes, that is according to me, I have not done any taste tests or official surveys other then my husband so I can only say as far as Im concerned it is darn good, “perfect” for me 🙂
WHAT YOU NEED:

2 Portobello mushrooms (or more if you want to feed more people)
4 Tbls Balsamic vinaigrette  (use home made & make sure it has a little honey or something sweet in it, you can use store bought too)
2 Tbls Herbed Goat cheese (plain is fine, I like lots of flavor)
hand full of greens baby greens, spinach, butter lettuce what ever you have or like best. I had “organic spring mix baby lettuce” in the fridge
1 really good roll (I have a ciabatta “sandwich” roll that was in a 4 pack at the store and I loved it. You can buy them and freeze them so you always have them) Good bread makes a good sandwich

WHAT YOU DO:
De-stem your mushrooms and gently remove the brown “gills” (I spent a lot of time Googling mushrooms today and yes they call it gills and when you think about it it’s weird, they look like gills) Using a spoon GENTLY scrape the gills keeping the mushroom in tack as much as possible. Don’t dig them out you want to have some mushroom left for roasting.
Scraped side up, again GENTLY score the mushroom so it will absorb the dressing, take care not to cut through.
Put in about 1 & 1/2 Tbls of the dressing (more or less if you want) on each and place on a baking sheet, lined with non-stick foil
Roast in a 425 degree oven for 30 minutes depending on the size of the mushrooms. This makes them thin and really cooked well & that is just the way I love it. I am not a fan of a 1/2 raw giant portobello on a sandwich.
While they are cooking cut the roll and lightly toast it.
drizzle the greens with a teaspoon or so of the dressing as well, just to coat them lightly and add more flavor (I like flavor, what can I say)
Spread both sides of the roll with goat cheese, I did about a full teaspoon on each but of course it is up to you. If I had more I would have put more but I was just about out.
Once the mushroom is cooked cut it thinly holding the knife on an angle so you get thin slices but they are wide, if you were to just cut it into strips they would be tiny and fall off the sandwich.
Build your sandwich!
Top the goat cheese spread on the roll with the mushrooms, load up the lettuce and you are ready to eat.
A few variations or add-ons that would be great too……
Thinly sliced red onion
roasted red peppers
roasted eggplant (coming soon)

Enjoy – T

Leave a Reply

