STOCKING UP! VEGGIE STYLE

I like to think I’m pretty witty with my titles, don’t tell me if I’m not….it would be devastating!
Homemade vegetable stock is on the agenda.
This is a great one to have on hand & freeze for future use.  Remember a few blogs back I did a grilled vegetable antipasto? No? Well…. I did and I said to save all the ends and freeze for stock. Well I am pulling them out of the freezer today. If you want to use “new” veggies you certainly can but I cook enough that I can put together a bag of scraps to save for stock. The beauty of this is add what ever you’ve got, the more the merrier.

WHAT YOU NEED:
A bag of vegetable scraps ie. onions, celery, asparagus, fennel, carrots, lemons, mushrooms
garlic 5 or 6 small cloves ( just cut in 1/2 my unused & threw it in skins and all
6 to 10 sprigs of fresh thyme
2 cups red or white wine
1/2 cup soy sauce
10 pepper corns
2 bay leaves
1/2 bag frozen spinach (it was there…why not I wasn’t going to use the rest)
12 Cups of water (or fill your stock pot up depending on size)

WHAT YOU DO:
Fill your stock pot with water, add the thyme and bring to boil
add in all the ingredients and reduce to simmer.
simmer for 2 hours and let it reduce by a few cups to really concentrate flavors.
red wine makes it a dark amber stock and white will obviously make it lighter.
DON’T add salt there is some in the soy sauce and it is stock so add it later to what ever you decide to make.
Once you have reduced it a little and cooked all the flavor out of the veggies let it stand and cool, hot stock and containers do not mix.
Strain the stock and then strain again through a sieve to make sure it is nice and clear. you can use cheese cloth if you really want to get crazy with it but I find a sieve works perfect. To store put it in freezer safe containers and freeze or mason jars and refrigerate. It will last about 2 weeks in the fridge and at least 2 months in the freezer. I actually did not have any freezer containers left so I had to use what I had.

Uses for the stock:
Soups….
Sauces
mashed potatoes (instead of milk)
stuffing (instead of h2o)
rice YUM!! super flavorful (instead of h2o)

anywhere you want to add flavor , the possibilities are endless

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. johnnystal
    Mar 30, 2012 @ 14:04:03

    Interesting! Great post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

