Spicy Grilled Shrimp with Lime

My husband gained 10 pounds….I told him it was the croissants he’s been eating at the French Bakery, lets hope thats true.

I’m going to lighten it up with some shrimp. Another easy dish anyone can do. I have to say even if the shrimp says “cleaned” its not as clean as I would like it so I do a little extra to make sure they are perfect. There is a second “vain” that runs along the inside where the legs are and I get that as well…I know, YUCK!  But it needs to be said!
Another big dinner success I grilled a little chicken as well because more people ended up eating. So I needed to improvise.

WHAT YOU NEED:
20 pieces of Jumbo or large shrimp (bigger the better)
1/4 Cup Franks Red hot or cayenne pepper sauce
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp aleppo pepper (just go get it already! I’m telling you it is a new staple for the kitchen (Newport Spice Company has it http://www.newportspice.com)
3 limes cut into rounds about 1/4 inch thick (enough to skewer)
1 tsp chopped cilantro for garnish

WHAT YOU DO:
If you are using wooden skewers then they need to soak so they don’t burn up instantly.
In a bowl add the cleaned shrimp and all the ingredients, mix well and refrigerate at least 2 hours
I am using 2 skewers side by side this is the best way so your food does not just spin around when you try to flip it and end up right back on the same side you’ve been cooking.
Starting with the lime skewer it with 2 skewers, this helps hold them in place for the shrimp.
Do not crowd them so they will cook evenly. put another lime at the top.
Put them on the grill for 3 minutes each side or in a grill pan. They are cooked when they turn pink. Be careful not to over cook.
Once they are cooked, pull them off the skewer and lay over rice. Garnish with Cilantro
Squeeze a lime over them and serve with another piece of lime it looks nice and is useable.
You can serve on the skewer if you like but I find it is easier to get them off in the kitchen and shrimp doesn’t go shooting through the dining room.
 Enjoy -T

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jasmine Pahl
    Apr 13, 2012 @ 14:58:54

    Looks delicious. Very curious about the alappo pepper….

    Reply

    • foodashion
      Apr 14, 2012 @ 13:01:42

      Its like red pepper flakes but it is smaller and has a very even heat…you don’t tend to get a a flake in your mouth and think WOW thats hot.
      I love it

      Reply

    • foodashion
      Apr 19, 2012 @ 18:42:12

      The Aleppo Pepper is a new staple in my kitchen! it has heat but it is not as aggressive as the red pepper flakes. I even put it on fresh tomato slices with a little salt!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

