SLOW & LOW THAT IS THE TEM-PO

Slow Roasted eggplant. Put this on a sandwich, It’s awesome. It has taken years for me to like eggplant. I have had some bad dishes made with it and couldn’t get past it for ever. I realized I do not like the skin and for me it is a different food all together without it. I have come up with a few ways to really enjoy it….Here is one of them.
Roasting vegies is so simple and you can make them very flavorful.

WHAT YOU NEED:
1 med/lg eggplant
4 Tbls olive oil (sounds like a lot but it absorbs almost instantly)
1 tsp sea salt
1  tsp fresh cracked pepper
2 Tbls vinegar (cider or wine)

WHAT YOU DO:
Pre heat oven to 275 degrees
Peel and slice the eggplant into 1/2 inch slices (feel free to cube it if you want, I like it sliced so I can add it to a sandwich)
Put the eggplant in a bowl and moving quickly toss or stir the eggplant while you drizzle in the olive oil and vinegar, It absorbs very fast and if you just pour it in you will have one or two pieces completely soaked with it and the others have nothing.
Sprinkle with salt and pepper, Toss and then lay on foil lined baking sheet in a single layer.
Put in the oven and roast for 2 hours (or until fully browned)

This can be a side dish or a a sandwich filler. Keep in an air tight container and it will keep in the fridge for a week.
Enjoy -T

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Desi Chick
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 21:59:00

    I eat a lot of eggplants. Bengalis love eggplant. We use Japanese style ones, the mini ones, the elongated ones. I just had moussaka today. I’m going to keep some of your recipe on hand to go with some humus and raita in a pita. It sounds great. Great post as usual!

    Reply

    • foodashion
      Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:49:47

      Awww thanks!! I really have been enjoying your blog as well! Here in Newport RI there are no Indian restaurants or Indian influenced restaurants. So we are “starved” for real indian flavors and cuisine. It is my favorite food and I can not duplicate the traditional flavors…yet. With your help though I am slowly venturing out there. Indian, I find is very complex and very hard to do authentically & you make it look easy and your recipes are clear, easy to follow. so I am looking forward to stocking my spice cabinet with the true spices needed to duplicate your food. Are there any pointers for spices and how to choose the right ones. I know there are hundreds out there but they are not all good ones and do you have a recipe for REAL curry powder?
      Your Blog Friend
      Tasha

      Reply

  2. Desi Chick
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 16:22:10

    You know I get asked that question a lot, especially in the food and culture classes I teach. I think I’ll take pictures and make a post so it’ll be printable and also try and post links to sites that sell spices inexpensively so those who don’t have a lot of ethnic stores nearby can order some online, I don’t know, would that be helpful? I am making some vegetarian kofta curry for dinner tonight, and I thought about you and several of my other friends who eat vegetarian but half their family are carnivores. I’m trying to eat more vegetarian entrees and cooking it such a way that nobody misses the “meat”. Good spices and different flavor profiles can go such a LOOOONG way towards that.

    Reply

    • foodashion
      Apr 23, 2012 @ 17:00:04

      Post it for sure! and yes it would be very helpful. I’m sure others will benefit from the information. We have a great spice store but it is totally American, they have a few unique spices but you are limited to what they like….
      I’m really looking forward to it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

