BEST-O PESTO

So I’ve been really slacking lately! This weather has me avoiding the office and I went away so…. that’s my excuse and I hope you accept it. However, I have been cooking…..
I decided to make PESTO to bring to a dinner we went to. They made amazing Egyptian food! What a treat for me!!

This is a quick fix and a super impresser!
WHAT YOU NEED:
3 cups fresh basil leaves (packed in)
1/2 Cup toasted walnuts (pine nuts are great here but a little on the pricy side)
1 Cup fresh Parmesan cheese (very important)
1 to 2 cloves garlic (minced or micro-planed)
juice of 1 lemon
1/4 cup Olive Oil (more or less to get desired consistency)
fresh cracked pepper

WHAT YOU DO:
Cut the cheese into small cubes or grate it in to the food processor.
Add in the basil, walnuts, pepper, garlic and lemon.
Turn the processor on and add in the olive oil a little at a time to smooth.
I like it to be like a peanut butter texture but you can do it to your liking.

Serve with fresh tomato & mozzarella or spread on a sandwich…..DELICIOUS
P.S. Thanks for the toothpicks mom

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jasmine Pahl
    Jun 16, 2012 @ 18:35:25

    This looks SO great!! Your hosts must have been so impressed!!
    I’m making pesto tonight too. Don’t usually add walnuts to my pesto but maybe this time I will be bold!

    Reply

  2. Jasmine Pahl
    Jul 03, 2012 @ 13:27:56

    Tasha, come back! Don’t leave us out here blogging all by ourselves!! 🙂

    Reply

    • foodashion
      Jul 03, 2012 @ 13:52:18

      Ahhh! I have no excuse! I have been photographing and cooking like crazy but I have been avoiding the computer. I am not totally sure why. I need a lap top I think I am the only one one the planet without one and I would be happy in my garden or at the Koi pond blogging away but Its like I’m allergic to the upstairs of my house right now. Summer makes me very unmotivated in the thinking department and the inside the house department. That being said I have some awesome recipes coming and the fact you titled your blog “Lentil Case” makes you me hero!
      Tasha
      P.S> don’t give up on me yet

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Edamame And Pea Pesto….Another Pesto???? « Foodashion's Blog

Leave a Reply

