Arugula Pesto

So you can pretty much make “Pesto” with anything. Traditionally basil is what you use but I think if you put it in the food processor with olive oil, garlic, nuts and Parmesan you have “Pesto”.
 I did a mushroom one and a Basil one that came out really good too (Wild Mushroom Pesto, and I mean it in the loosest sense of the word – BEST-O PESTO ).
So I tried Arugula, and if you like that peppery bite Arugula has you will love this! Easy to prepare and is so good on pasta, spread on a sandwich or as a dip.
Give it a try, Live a little, Break away from the Norm!! Besides it’s fast, easy and you really can’t mess it up.

WHAT YOU NEED:
4 Cups Arugula (I like the baby arugula but use whatever)
1 Cup grated Parmesan Cheese (Rigiano if you can)
1 Cup Walnuts toasted (Substitute almonds or pine nuts we like the way walnuts taste in pesto)
2 Cloves fresh garlic minced
1 Lemon (juice & zest)
1/2 Cup GOOD QUALITY Olive Oil (more or less as needed)
I say good quality because you can really taste it in this, I think you should always have good quality but it can be expensive so maybe have one bottle of the “Good Stuff” on hand for special recipes.

WHAT YOU DO:
Put the Walnuts, Parmesan and minced garlic in the food processor and pulse until it is combined and the walnuts are ground (I like to do this first so the pesto is smooth and creamy)
Put all the Arugula in your food processor. (Of course make sure it is washed very well and dried. I used my garden Arugula so I had to rinse it several times.)
Turn on processor and drizzle the Olive Oil in slowly, stopping to scrape down the sides.
Once it has become the consistency you like, squeeze in the lemon juice.
Thats it! You’re done!
I like to do a little garnish of what’s in it, so here I did a walnut and some lemon zest, That way if you are using it as a dip, people know what’s in it.
If there is any left, freeze some for later….

Enjoy -T

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Edamame And Pea Pesto….Another Pesto???? « Foodashion's Blog

Leave a Reply

