Basil Ice Cubes

YES YOU READ IT CORRECTLY! BASIL ICE CUBES….. So if you are like me and you have planted more herbs then you can actually use, here are a couple of ideas to save your hard work for winter or to keep from wasting all that beautiful basil.
I like freezing my herbs the best, they have a fresh taste still even if they don’t look quite as beautiful as the day you picked them.
Making Ice Cubes is a great way to portion your herbs so when you pull them out of the freezer you can just grab a cube and add it to what ever you are cooking.
AND you can totally do this with pesto too!

WHAT YOU DO:
For these you just need some olive oil & your freshly washed & dried Basil
Simply put the basil in the food processor
Pulse them and add olive oil until it is combined in a thin paste
Pour it into a ice cube tray
Cover the basil with plastic wrap right over the cubes, touching them and then put in a ziplock overnight
When they are frozen remove them from the tray & put in a freezer bag so they are easy to grab and so you can make more.
I used a small knife and stuck it in the side and they popped right out.
Be sure to put in a small plastic bag and then ziplock & keep in the freezer for whatever dish is calling for it. This helps freezer burn.
I’ll blog another ice cube secret I have tucked away another time 🙂

I also have 2 other storing techniques I do and I will tell you it’s great in December when you are cooking and you don’t have to go buy herbs, at their most expensive. Although from time to time they are totally necessary and you have to spring for the fresh…..
WHAT YOU DO:
Wash & dry your herbs
Chop them or remove them from the stem and leave them whole and line a plastic freezer container with paper towels (This helps keep the moisture out and keeps them from getting freezer burn)
Place the herbs on top of the paper towel (Pack it in)
Top with an additional paper towel and close.
You can add to it as you grow more.
Don’t forget to mark your containers so you know what you’ve got in there!

Another way is to freeze them “whole” or leaving them on the stem.
WHAT YOU DO:
Wash & dry herbs and then place them on a paper towel.
Top with an additional paper towel and put them in a Ziplock Freezer bag and mark it, Put on there if its whole or on the stem so you can keep track….I end up with quite a bit and I can’t remember What is in what.

Lastly, Drying them. This is just as easy and dried herbs are great too!
WHAT YOU DO:
Wash and dry your herbs.
Make a bunch, not too big you need them to dry and not get moist
Using kitchen twine, wrap the end and tie it, leaving some string at the end to hang.
Hang them up side down and jet let them dry.
This can take a week or so depending on the size of the bunch.
Once they are dry, remove the herbs from the stem and place in an air tight container.

I do not like to dry them in the oven, I feel like they loose a little flavor/strength but that is just my opinion.
If you have a dehydrator then you are a professional and don’t need to read this 🙂
Enjoy-  T

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jasmine Pahl
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 18:33:02

    Awesome tutorial Tash!

    Reply

    • foodashion
      Aug 12, 2012 @ 13:03:19

      Why Thanks Jasmine! I like to show how to do it because that is the thing I like most in a recipe, being able to see what it is suppose to look like during the process. I think that’s why I like cooking shows so much 🙂
      Thanks for all your kind words….you are the best

      Reply

  2. everydayexplanations
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 20:32:52

    Great tips!

    Reply

  3. Peri's Spice Ladle
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 07:38:44

    Great ideas for storing the abundance of herbs in the garden right now for the winter… I’ve tried ice cubes, they work really well! Must try the container with paper towels and drying them upside down…thanks:)

    Reply

    • foodashion
      Aug 13, 2012 @ 11:34:00

      Thanks! I think they all work pretty well but the cubes are my favorite. My freezer is full of ziplocks & Tupperware no room for food hahaha
      Luckily I have a basement fridge. I’ll have to put them down there if the herbs keep growing so well:)
      Thanks for looking & I enjoy your blog very much!

      Reply

  4. Trackback: HERBS ON ICE « Foodashion's Blog
  5. Jane
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 16:42:05

    this idea of freezing herbs is ingenious! thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Edamame And Pea Pesto….Another Pesto???? « Foodashion's Blog

Leave a Reply

