Panini Perfection!

So, several blogs ago I posted  Oven Roasted Tomatoes and because my garden has given me pretty much all my tomatoes at once I roasted a bunch more.  I was starving for something really good for lunch and remembered I got a “Griddler” for Christmas a few years ado and it’s kind of tucked in the back of the cabinet with the plates so I don’t see it and forget its there. It is a Panini Press made by Cuisinart and it works really well.

When we first got it we had Panini everything for weeks!  Anyway like I said…. I was starving for something good, like a sandwich and I thought….”Ooh those tomatoes I just roasted would be good, and I have that nice bread & oh yea! and the goat cheese I made the guy go find for me at the market (there was none out!? What?)…PANINI!! I’M MAKING A PANINI!!!”  I am home yelling this to the dogs by the way & they jump and run with me for a second and think someone is here because I jump up and they go racing out the door barking and then I’m like “NO GUY’S IT WAS JUST ME EXCITED ABOUT MY SANDWICH!” but they don’t hear me cuz they are barking and racing down the steps into the yard so I keep yelling “NO IT’S JUST ME!! IT’ WAS MEEEEEEE!! MY SANDWICH!!!” and because I’m yelling they keep barking and then I’m like, “you guys are so stupid, it was me and my sandwich” and then I realize I am the stupid one and the neighbors must think I ‘m crazy because I’m yelling “I WAS JUST EXCITED ABOUT MY SANDWICH” and the dogs have no idea what I’m saying. I should video tape our house and watch it….I bet there is some funny stuff coming out of here.

WHAT YOU NEED:
Nice sandwich bread like a Ciabatta, something that will hold up well to cooking and won’t get soggy.
1/4 Cup oven roasted tomatoes (approx, these ended up small and you just want a layer of them not too think)
2 ounces goat cheese (herbed or plain)
1 Cup Arugula (baby or regular)
olive oil & herbs for top (I made an olive oil bread dipping mixture and used that)
salt & pepper

WHAT YOU DO:
Super easy, just build your sandwich the way you like it.
I did goat cheese on both sides.
Layer of roasted tomatoes.
Heaping pile of Arugula (it presses down so load it up!)
Brush the top of the bread with olive oil and sprinkle with a little salt & herbs.
Put in the Panini Grill and press.
If you don’t have a press you can put it in a pan and place something heavy on top of it like another pan with a weight on it and flip it after a few minutes. With the press it cooks from both sides so you don’t have to flip.
Throw a little something on the side…I have a green bean salad with fresh beans from the garden 🙂

Enjoy -T

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 16:36:06

    Yum! A very grown up looking grilled cheese.

    Reply

  2. putneyfarm
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 17:52:57

    Looks awesome!

    Reply

  3. trialsinfood
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 19:53:42

    certainly looks perfect! i can understand the excitement!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

